Scarlet Heart: Ryeo – Episode 16

AAAAAND they died.
I don’t know if it’s because I’m on my period and the mood swings are hella strong or what but I cried more than I wanted to and felt like I still wasn’t crying enough. It was weird. I was actually super surprised that Haesoo understood that Eun wanted So to kill him as compared to Jung who didn’t hear anything. I mean, I don’t think anyone did, yet she somehow still caught that but I mean, cool.

Interesting thing happens. It’s super late in the drama but now So wants to become king. And when he does, Haesoo goes up to him and says, “but what if I ask you not to pursue that?” to which he responds that he would convince her until he could. That question kind of threw me off, I mean I kind of saw it coming but at the same time, I felt like that was a question reserved for Wook. Then again, they are working these things out differently. Whereas Ruoxi remembered her history lessons, Haesoo just gets premonitions–history plays like a television drama in front of her brain. So, while Ruoxi was hoping to change history by saving the one she loved from the path of known destruction starting with his family all the way through hers, Haesoo just thinks that So is going to end up killing all his brothers. This was the reasoning for Ruoxi to avoid 4th Prince in the first place but work around him carefully because she didn’t know how long she’d be in the palace. I believe she also asks 4th Prince not to but at the same time it’s like, it’s going to happen anyway and everything she’s tried to do to alternate history has done nothing but aid it so what is the use of trying to stop him. It’s going to happen regardless.

Which brings me to a side note: what happened to the whole idea of Ji Mong is also from the future? Like… they just completely abandoned that. Well, I get that the way they went around it was supposed to be an entire “we shall talk no further of this *wink wink* *hush hush*” but still. This better be explained in the last episode.

Also, Yo is a weak ass bitch. The boi dun killed only one of his brothers by himself and he’s out here having PTSD and hallucinations! Kill two more of your siblings and I’ll understand. I get that you killed the weakest and most innocent of them all, I mean the boy has never even been to a war ground, but like damn, you really aren’t fit for being King if only one direct death is on your hand and you’re freaking out. (Let’s not mention how So has killed many more and witnessed more deaths and seems to be doing just fine because *phab ejs are phab ejs*.)

Honestly speaking though, it really does feel like Eighth prince and Fourth Prince’s roles are switched in the Korean version the more I look at it. Just certain aspects, such as the “happy together” time, the scheming, things of the like.

I don’t really have much else to say about this episode so I guess that’s it.

 

PINK POTATO SIGNING OFF!

Leave a Reply

