Scarlet Heart: Ryeo – Episode 11

Hey, guys! I’m back. Sorry (yet not sorry) about not updating. I was on a class trip to the south and, well, if you’re a homebody like me, the last thing you want to do when you finally are able to explore the world is to sit in your hotel room and watch television dramas. Anyways, I’m back now and I’m trying to catch up on this whole drama before the day ends. Which means there’s going to be a large spam on these posts within the next few hours.

Okay, to be honest, I don’t really have much to say about this episode. Not anything in depth anyways. There just… wasn’t anything that seemed to stick out to me.

I don’t know if you guys felt it but I know for sure I did. As sad as I felt about what happened to Lady Oh, I don’t know why but it didn’t feel sad enough. I mean, she was beautiful and pure but the connection that was to be made between the two just wasn’t strong enough for me to feel completely heartbroken. It just didn’t feel like enough for me.

However! The little backstory they gave on her and the king is sad. I think the fact that it is such a common story among the women back then make it even sadder still. A young girl falls in love with a man but finds that their matrimonial bond is almost meaningless because of his own ambitions. Also, the fact of having many wives and the competition between each one for status. I mean, her lost child is the only thing that she could truly call her own in the palace and even that was taken from her. Yet, in the end, if it had been born the works of the palace would definitely pull him away from her too. Which is so sad… but that could also just be me feeling sentimental about other things at the moment.

I have to say, my highlight for this episode was the exchange between Queen Yoo and Lady Oh. Yoo seems like such a low person in this episode, going to Oh as if to smear some sort of victory in her face. I don’t really understand what she thinks she has won. But maybe that’s because the drama hasn’t really worked much on the relationships between the characters at all so it’s hard to say what she feels that she has won except for not being hanged.¬†During that conversation-slash-self-pep-talk, Oh said something I very much agree with but also seems kinda… sad.
“That’s okay. As long as one person remembers me.”

In fact, I made an instagram post about it before I even saw the episode. #ladyohismypersonalityaspirations
There are a lot of reasons why that was my favorite line. I’m not sure how to word it exactly though. I guess I feel like everyone in the world, especially those in more privileged places, especially those in privileged places, all want to be remembered in some way–martyred, making their mark, creating something. It’s definitely an ambitious goal. What about those of us who do not have such skills? There are those of us who are just mediocre–or lower. While others are struggling to be remembered by many, they find that they must step on so many others. People like me, people like us, we’re okay with not being remembered by 1200 people. We are okay with being known by 50 people, and truly cared for by 12 people. Some of us are lucky to have 1 person to understand us, and there are those who are lucky enough to have 2 or more. In all honesty, that’s all we need.

I’m thinking too much. My head is in a muddle. I think I’m going to take a break from this drama. I need something… super happy. I think I’m going to start a chibi anime. Can you tell I’m struggling some sort of internal battle? LOL

I heard Weightlifting Fairy Bok Joo is super cutesy. Maybe I’ll try that ^^ I’ll be back, guys. I promise.

Leave a Reply

