Rose

“Run,” she said staring into my eyes.
“What?” I responded in surprise.
“Listen to me while I’m still sane. Run; and no matter what, don’t stop. I have a short endurance so if you keep running I’ll eventually get tired and won’t chase you anymore. So make sure you run,” she said almost choking up.
Before I could respond she disappeared into the shadows.

The next day a letter was slipped under my door. I tore it open and unfolded the piece of paper inside. It read four simple words; “The Game Starts Now.” I didn’t understand. Suddenly, the phone rang.

Leave a Reply

